Wednesday, October 4, 2023
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsLocation Managers Guild International Announces Dow Griffith to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

Location Managers Guild International Announces Dow Griffith to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award


Dow Griffith (photo provided by LMGI)

The Location Managers Guild International (LMGI) hsd announced that esteemed veteran Location Manager Dow Griffith (Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, Jumanji, And Justice For All) will receive this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award at the 10th Annual LMGI Awards on Saturday, August 26, 2023, at The Eli and Edythe Broad Stage in Santa Monica. Griffith is being honored for his lifetime career of over 65 motion pictures whose locations span the globe. The announcement was made by LMGI Awards Committee Chairs John Rakich, LMGI President, and Robin Citrin, Supervising Location Manager. This year also marks the LMGI’s 20th anniversary.

“We regard Dow to be the quintessential location manager as we have followed his adventures across the globe. Well-traveled and full of tales, Dow can be dropped off anywhere in the world and he will return with stories and must-go places. He is resourceful, personable, and highly adaptable to any situation with a lifetime of rich escapades. He is most deserving to be honored with this year’s LMGI Lifetime Achievement Award,” said Citrin.

Griffith’s enthusiasm and creativity have set the scene for movies sites literally around the world and specializing in unique and foreign locations. His background in cultural anthropology and his adventurous spirit have taken him on planes, buses, tuk-tuks, motorcycles, dugout canoes, and helicopters to explore the world and its wonders in search of the best and most appropriate location settings. He has visited an enviable 500 regions of the planet and 237 World Heritage Sites.

Griffith’s many, varied motion picture credits include Proof of Life, The Fountain, Ghost in the Shell, The Promise, The Bourne Legacy, Tropic Thunder, Carrie, The Chronicles of Riddick, Dinosaur, Mission to Mars, Jungle 2 Jungle, Sleepless in Seattle, Alive, Arachnophobia, Always, Moon Over Parador, The Color of Money, Down and Out in Beverly Hills, The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas, The Jerk, And Justice for All, and The Onion Field, among many others.

Dow’s movie credits have taken him across the globe — from the Arctic to the south coast of Australia; from the Amazon to Death Valley; from China to Costa Rica; from Russia to Tenerife; from Samoa to Machu Picchu; India to Iguazu; Ecuador to Anchorage; and to the Philippines, Venezuela, Vietnam, Thailand, Namibia, Guatemala, Macao, Jordan, Brazil, Hong King, Haiti, Honduras, Vladivostok, Nome, Maui, the jungles of Panama, the beaches of Fiji, the snowbound slopes of Mont Blanc, and more.

During his 45-year career, Dow has worked with leading filmmakers Taylor Hackford, Darren Aronofsky, Steven Spielberg, Frank Marshall and Kathy Kennedy, Richard Vane, Norman Jewison, Brian DePalma, Paul Mazursky, Steven Soderbergh, M. Night Shyamalan, John Hughes, Martin Scorsese, Michael Apted, and Carl Reiner, among many others.

The LMGI Lifetime Achievement Award is given annually to a Location Professional whose body of work represents the highest level of achievement and professionalism over an illustrious career in features, TV, or commercials.

The LMGI Awards honor the creative visual contributions by location professionals in film, television, and commercials from around the globe. Outstanding Location Awards are presented in the following categories: Contemporary Film, Period Film, Contemporary TV, Period TV, TV Serial Program/Anthology/Limited Series, Commercials, and Film Commissions.

As previously announced, esteemed Location Scout Beth Tate (Twilight, Beverly Hills 90210) will receive this year’s Trailblazer Award. Recipients of the Humanitarian and the Eva Monley Awards will be announced shortly. For a list of LMGI Award nominations, click h ere.

For information about the LMGI, visit or contact Erika Howard at [email protected]. For LMGI sponsorship opportunities, please contact Carol Skeldon at [email protected]. This year’s awards are produced by Erick Weiss, Honeysweet Creative, and IngleDodd Media, and written by Shelly Goldstein.

For social media information about #LMGI and the #LMGIawards, follow the LMGI on Facebook (@TheLMGI), Instagram (@locationmanagersguild), and Twitter (@TheLMGI).

- Advertisment -