Sunday, April 14, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsMobile Excellence Award Winners Announced

Mobile Excellence Award Winners Announced


The 6th Annual Mobile Excellence Awards (MEA) were held Wednesday as part of the Digital Hollywood Conference at the Ritz Carlton in Marina del Rey. Honoring the best in mobile entertainment and technology, innovators in the industry took home the coveted crystal MEA towers.

Formerly the founding head of the video game division of the Creative Artists Agency, Seamus Blackley gave the opening address, which traced the history of games from arcades through the present, including the challenges posed by rapidly and ever evolving technology. “The one constant in the world of video games…is quality entertainment – continuously surprise and delight and have fun while doing it,” Blackley said.

The Humanitarian Award, presented to a company that gives back to the industry or community through a charitable, or selfless act was awarded to Turkey’s Turkcell for providing communications to more than 230,000 Syrian Refugees. Turkcell, North Cyprus, was honored for Life Without Borders, a program that helped the disabled. Turkcell also took home the Mobile Social Awareness Award, using technology to drive social awareness for the Women Empowerment in Economy Project, a program that began in 2012 with an outreach to 55,000 women to offer them micro-credits for start-ups or business development. The program hopes to reach 100,000 women in four years.

Of the other premiere awards Samsung Telecommunications America received the Industry Star Award for its innovative technologies and Jay Samit, president of ooVoo was named “Mobile Ambassador” for his support of the goals and programs of the mobile industry and mobile community at large.

CEO of Axis PR/Entertainment, Sarah Miller founded and chairs the Mobile Excellence Awards. Celebrity presenters included actor/director Patrick Kilpatrick, WWF star Chris Masters and comedian Ron G, as well as industry leaders such as Eric Stein, director of programming and acquisitions at Warner Brothers and Jonathan Love, VP of marketing for AEG Sports.

The 2013 winners are:


Best Mobile Payment
Fiserv for Popmoney

Best Mobile Innovator
GQ Live! for print-to-mobile app

Best International
Melon Mobile for GPS Voice Navigation for Windows Phone

Best Retail/Commerce Solution for Mobile
Catalog Spree

Best Mobile Product
Samsung Telecommunications America for Galaxy S 4

Best Mobile Ad Network


Best Entertainment Integration for Mobile
SapientNitro for ESPN X Game

Best Mobile Games
EA for All Play for Real Racing 3

Best Mobile Music

Best Entertainment Related Marketing Campaign
Dreamworks Animation SKG for Turbo Racing League Mobile App

Best Original Content for Mobile
HP Autonomy for Aurasma

Best Content Extension Made for Mobile
CBS Interactive

Best Mobile Application for Entertainment

Best Mobile Entertainment for a Sports Category
SapientNitro for ESPN X Games


Best User Experience for Mobile

Best Mobile Utility Application for on a Smartphone or Tablet
NQ Mobile for NQ Family Guardian

Best Delivery Platform for Mobile
LocationSmart for Hybrid Location Platform and Geofencing Suite

Best Technology Breakthrough

Best 2nd Screen Experience for TV on Mobile or Tablet

Best Mobile Video
Magisto Video Editor & Maker

- Advertisment -


Brad Allan

Over the Weekend 8/9/21: Night Court‘s Markie Post Dies, The Suicide...

Unfortunately, this past weekend was one full of sadness as a number of prominent and beloved people from across our industry passed away. First up, Markie...

Beowulf and 3-D