Saturday, May 25, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsThree Directors Win the Chance to Make Short Film Starring Willem Dafoe

Three Directors Win the Chance to Make Short Film Starring Willem Dafoe


Jameson Irish Whiskey, Kevin Spacey, Willem Dafoe and Trigger Street Productions have announced the three winners of Jameson First Shot 2013. The international short film competition that gives big breaks to up-and-coming film talent has named Shirlyn Wong from the U.S., Hanneke Schutte from South Africa and Anton Lanshakov from Russia as this year’s winners. After stiff competition from hundreds of other talented screenwriters and directors, Wong, Schutte and Lanshakov will go on to direct two-time Academy Award nominee, Dafoe in their short film, all with the backing of award-winning production company, Trigger Street Productions.

Having reviewed the hundreds of scripts entered this year, Spacey and Trigger Street produced a shortlist of 20 to progress to the rigorous second stage of judging. Once the shortlisted contestants showcased their creativity and directing skills, the winning three were chosen and notified via a personal Skype call from the competition’s creative director, Spacey, president of Trigger Street Productions, Dana Brunetti and Jameson First Shot producer, Carter Swan.

The 2013 winners will fly to L.A. in two weeks to begin production on their short films with the expertise of Spacey and his production company behind them. Jameson will once again host premieres when production has wrapped, to ensure the winners get to celebrate their achievement as well as getting the chance promote their winning short film.

- Advertisment -


Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power VFX Supervisor Jason...

Last week, Below the Line shared an interview with Production Designer Ramsey Avery, who snagged the coveted role of designing Amazon's Lord of the...

Beowulf and 3-D