Wednesday, February 21, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwards70th Annual DGA Awards

70th Annual DGA Awards



70th Annual DGA Awards Cover

The 70th Annual DGA Awards honored the best direction of 2017 in film, television, documentaries, and commercials. Master of Ceremonies host, Judd Apatow entertained and enthralled the audience through 14 remarkable awards held in the International Ballroom at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

The program consisted of various presenters ranging from Sam Rockwell, Amy Schumer, Kevin Bacon, Chelsea Peretti, and director Damien Chazelle.

Guillermo del Toro wins 2017 DGA Feature Film
Guillermo del Toro wins 2017 DGA Feature Film

The nominees for the DGA Feature Film Award included Guillermo del Toro for The Shape of Water, Greta Gerwig for Lady Bird, Martin McDonagh for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Christopher Nolan for Dunkirk, and Jordan Peele for Get Out. Each had their work highlighted throughout the ceremony. At the end of the evening, 2016 Feature Film Award winner, Damien Chazelle presented Guillermo del Toro with the prestigious 2017 DGA Feature Film Award.

Get Out director, Jordan Peele, was the only participant nominated for multiple categories and was bestowed with the First-Time Feature Film Award.

The Documentary Award was handed out to Matthew Heineman for his storytelling in City of Ghosts, which had been celebrated at multiple film festivals in 2017.

The television categories encapsulated the bulk of the awards. As an experienced cinematographer, Reed Morano won the Dramatic Series Award for direction in The Handmaid’s Tale for the episode entitled “Offred.” The Comedy Series Award was granted to Beth McCarthy-Miller for the “Chicklet” episode of HBO’s Veep. The Mini-Series genre continued to thrive as Jean-Marc Vallée was awarded for his phenomenal work in Big Little Lies.

Jordan Peele Wins First-Time Feature Film
Jordan Peele Wins First-Time Feature Film Director











Other television notables included Glenn Weiss, Don Roy King, Niki Caro, Brian Smith, and Martin de Thurah. Weiss continued to be the standard to uphold for his victory in the Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Specials Category for The 89th Annual Academy Awards. Don Roy King won once again for the sister category of Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Series, for long time running Saturday Night Live with “Host: Jimmy Fallon.”

With a multitude of children’s programming, Niki Caro won the Children’s Programs Award for the show, Anne with an E for the episode “Your Will Shall Decide Your Destiny.” As people still crave cooking shows, Brian Smith prevailed to win the Reality Programs Award for his direction in “Vegas Deluxe & Oyster Shucks” from the popular MasterChef cooking show.

The category for shortest form of content went to Martin de Thurah as he took home the Commercials Award for his delivery in the following commercials: Festival & Machines, StubHub, Mad World, and WealthSimple.

The DGA also tendered a few honorary awards as well. The Honorary Life Member Award was presented to Michael Apted. Dwight Williams received the Frank Capra Achievement Award, while Jim Tanker took home the Franklin Schaffner Award.

Reed Morano wins Dramatic Series
Reed Morano wins Dramatic Series

As the 70th Annual DGA Awards came to a close; champion of the 2017 DGA Feature Film Award, Guillermo del Toro, voiced, “Being in this group of nominees; which has me, Greta, Jordan, Chris, and Martin; it’s really beautiful because it shows diversity. There’s a reality now and the way the industry sees itself, that is going to provoke and promote that change in the immediate future.”

- Advertisment -


IATSE Remembers Crew Member J.C. “Spike” Osorio

  J.C. "Spike" Osorio tragically passed away last week. The rigging technician, whose full name was Juan “Spike” Wu Osorio, fell from a rafter. We...