Sunday, July 14, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeNewsMPSE Elects Sony Pictures Studios’ Tom McCarthy as President

MPSE Elects Sony Pictures Studios’ Tom McCarthy as President


LR-Tom McCarthy-email

Tom McCarthy
Tom McCarthy
The Motion Picture Sound Editors (MPSE) has elected Tom McCarthy as president. McCarthy is an Academy Award- and BAFTA Award-winning sound supervisor and longtime industry executive. He currently serves as executive vice president post production facilities at Sony Pictures Studios. He succeeds Frank Morrone.

Supervising sound editor Glenn Morgan was elected secretary. He succeeds Chris Reeves. McCarthy and Morgan will join continuing officers Mark Lanza, vice president; Paul Rodriguez, treasurer and Jeremy Gordon, sergeant at arms.

McCarthy described his new role as an opportunity to give back to an industry that he has worked in for nearly four decades. “I want to encourage more members to become involved in MPSE activities, including running for board positions,” he said. “I will also work to increase recognition for the art of entertainment sound, and the contributions sound editors make to motion pictures, television, games and other media.”

McCarthy added that MPSE is planning to expand its series of sound seminars and to create new educational opportunities for students and young professionals. “We see the MPSE as a forum where veteran sound professionals can share insights and advice with other members to improve their skills and grow their careers.”

Outgoing president, Frank Morrone, said that MPSE has made substantial progress in its mission to promote the craft of sound editors. “It was an honor to serve as president of the organization during such an exciting time for sound,” Morrone said. “Sound editors are employing their skills in new ways and in new mediums, and MPSE has supported them through our educational programs, industry outreach and annual Golden Reel awards competition.”

In addition to the new officers, MPSE elected several candidates to board seats. Steve Urban, Steve Avila, Mike Draghi, Solange Schwalbe, Bernard Weiser and Mandell Winter were elected to the film board. Mark Jasper, William Dannevik and Chris Reeves were elected to the television board. Charles Deenen was elected to the game cinematics board. Avila, Draghi, Schwalbe, Weiser, Winter, Dannevik, Reeves and Deenen were incumbents.

- Advertisment -


Beau Borders

Contender Profile: The Greyhound Sound Team on Creating Authentic 1940s Sounds...

“And the Oscar goes to,” is a familiar phrase we anticipate hearing each year in the 93-year history of the Academy Awards. This year,...