Friday, June 21, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeCraftsAnimation2015 Animation Educators Forum Scholarship Recipients Selected

2015 Animation Educators Forum Scholarship Recipients Selected


ASIFA-Hollywood and the Animation Educators Forum (AEF) announced the recipients of the 2015 AEF Scholarships. From a pool of 113 applicants, three were selected for the $5,000 scholarship and six were selected for the $2,500 scholarship. Scholarships are merit-based and designed to support college students in continuing their education in the field of animation. The awards may be applied to tuition, books and supplies, animation hardware or software and senior or graduate thesis production.

The $5,000 recipients are: Tomek Pilarski, University of Arts, Poznan, Poland; Alan Huynh, California State University, Long Beach, and Anastasiia Platoshyna, Sheridan College. The $2,500 recipients are: Michael Trikosko, Ringling College of Art and Design; Eustace Ng, Sheridan College; Michael Linhart, Griffith College; Sarah Chalek, MOPA; Joanna K. Stopyra, Academy of Art University, and Tiffany Rodriquez, California College of the Arts.

“ASIFA’s original mission was to connect Western animation studios with Eastern European studios,” said Aubry Mintz, AEF chair and board member of ASIFA-Hollywood. “One of the recipients was from the University of Poznan in Poland. It’s nice to see this international relationship thrive so many years later.”

“The success of this scholarship in its inaugural year is a testament to the dedication of 12 passionate educators who meet regularly outside of their busy schedules to discuss effective ways to improve animation education,” Mintz added.

- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.

Beowulf and 3-D