Monday, June 24, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeCommunityThe Academy Creates Branch for Costume Designers

The Academy Creates Branch for Costume Designers


The board of governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced the creation of the costume designers branch. Costume designers had previously been a part of the designers branch, which also includes production designers, art directors and set decorators. Academy governor Jeffrey Kurland will transfer to the newly created branch and eventually be joined by two additional governors.

“History was made at the board of governors meeting on Wednesday night with the formation of a costume designers branch,” said Kurland. “Costume designers have waited a long time for recognition with branch status. As a governor representing these designers, I’m thrilled and grateful for the Academy’s support.”

At the same meeting, the governors voted to increase the representation of the makeup artists and hairstylists branch from one to three governors. Two new governors will be chosen by election later this year to join current governor Leonard Engelman. The makeup artists and hairstylists branch, the most recent branch to be created, was formed in 2006.

“I’m looking forward to sharing the task of representing the Academy’s makeup artists and hairstylists with two of my colleagues,” Engelman said. “New governors will bring new ideas, which will help to keep the Academy’s leadership strong and sharp.”

“Congratulations to our members from these essential craft areas,” Academy president Hawk Koch said. Movies are a visual medium and costume designers, makeup artists, and hairstylists help to create images that tell stories. This recognition is richly deserved.”

These decisions were voted at the regularly scheduled board meeting on Jan. 23, and will take effect in July after board elections are held. The new costume designers branch governors and the two new makeup artists and hairstylists branch governors will bring the size of the Academy’s board to 48 members, with three governors representing each of the 16 branches.

- Advertisment -


Vicon Introduces Mobile Mocap at SIGGRAPH

Motion capture systems developer Vicon is previewing a futuristic new “Mobile Mocap” technology at SIGGRAPH 2011 in Vancouver. Moving mocap out of the lab and into the field, Vicon's Mobile Mocap system taps several new technologies, many years in the making. At the heart of Mobile Mocap is a very small lipstick-sized camera that enables less obtrusive, more accurate facial animation data. The new cameras capture 720p (1280X720) footage at 60 frames per second. In addition, a powerful processing unit synchronizes, stores, and wirelessly transmits the data, all in a tiny wearable design.

Beowulf and 3-D