Monday, July 22, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeNewsAcademy Election Results

Academy Election Results


Director Kathryn Bigelow, film editor Anne Coates and documentarian Michael Moore – make up the year’s first-time electees to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Board of Governors. Coates received her award for the editing of Lawrence of Arabia, Moore won in the Documentary Feature category for Bowling from Columbine, and Bigelow received Oscars this year in the Directing category and as one of the producers of The Hurt Locker. In addition, nine incumbents were reelected and three other filmmakers will return to the Board after a time away.

The reelected governors are Curt Behlmer, sound branch; Rosemary Brandenburg, art directors; Richard Edlund, visual effects; Leonard Engelman, makeup artists and hairstylists; Charles Fox, music; Jim Gianopulos, executives; Hawk Koch, producers; Marvin Levy, public relations, and Frank Pierson, writers.

Returning to the board after a hiatus are John Bailey, cinematographers; Ed Begley, Jr., actors; and Jon Bloom, short films and feature animation. Bailey previously served on the board from 1996 to 2002. Begley and Bloom both were governors from 2000 to 2009.

Fourteen of the Academy’s 15 branches are represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. Terms are staggered so that each branch elects or reelects one governor each year. The makeup artists and hairstylists branch is represented by a single governor.

Governors who were not up for reelection and who continue on the Board are Annette Bening and Tom Hanks, actors branch; Jim Bissell and Jeffrey Kurland, art directors; Caleb Deschanel and Owen Roizman, cinematographers; Martha Coolidge and Edward Zwick, directors; Rob Epstein and Lynne Littman, documentary; Robert Rehme and Tom Sherak, executives; Donn Cambern and Mark Goldblatt, film editors; Bruce Broughton and Arthur Hamilton, music; Mark Johnson and Kathleen Kennedy, producers; Robert G. Friedman and Sid Ganis, public relations; Bill Kroyer and John Lasseter, short films and feature animation; Don Hall and Kevin O’Connell, sound; Craig Barron and Bill Taylor, visual effects; and James L. Brooks and Phil Robinson, writers.


- Advertisment -


Beastie Boys

EMMY WATCH 2020: The Sound for the Beastie Boys Story Doc

The original experimental punk, hip hop, rap rock, alternative band of best friends Adam “MCA” Yauch, Michael “Mike D” Diamond, and Adam “Ad-Rock” Horovitz, better...