Saturday, July 20, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeCommunityCinema Audio Society Names Peter Kurland President, Unveils New CAS Board of...

Cinema Audio Society Names Peter Kurland President, Unveils New CAS Board of Directors


The Cinema Audio Society has announced its newly elected CAS Board of Directors. Taking the helm as CAS President is Peter Kurland, CAS, while Steve Venezia, CAS, Frank Morrone, CAS, and Lee Orloff, CAS were re-elected to their executive positions as Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer, respectively.
Kurland previously made headlines last year when he resigned as a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences over the org’s decision to remove eight crafts categories from the live Oscar telecast last year. Those categories were reinstated this year, as Bill Kramer, the Academy’s CEO, felt it was important that all 23 categories be awarded during the broadcast.
This year’s CAS Board of Directors: Lindsey Alvarez, CAS; David Bondelevitch, CAS, MPSE; Willie D. Burton, CAS; Devendra Cleary, CAS; Marc Fishman, CAS; Tom Fleischman, CAS; Sara Glaser, CAS; Melissa S. Hofmann, CAS; Doc Kane, CAS; Sherry Klein, CAS; Richard Lightston, CAS; Christian P. Minkler, CAS; Phillip W. Palmer, CAS; Stephen A. Tibbo, CAS; and Mark Ulano, CAS.
“I look forward to working with our incredible Cinema Audio Society board to serve the sound mixing community and our membership of more than 1,000 sound professionals over the coming year,” Kurland said during the 59th CAS Awards on March 4. “The society’s goals of recognizing, educating, and progressing the art and science of sound were emphasized [to] me by a mixer from Colombia on Saturday. He told me he comes in for the show every year because it gives him a chance to meet his peers and heroes. It recharges his enthusiasm and inspires him for the year to come. It is an honor to lead our society. Our art form deserves elevation within our community of the world’s best filmmakers… and I am dedicated to that goal.”
“There is magic in this organization created by sound mixers for sound mixers,” outgoing CAS President Karol Urban said in a statement. “Together, we thrive through volunteerism, honoring our legends and ensuring a legacy for the future of our craft.”
Click here for more information on the Cinema Audio Society, and click here to see the winners of this year’s CAS Awards.
- Advertisment -


Beastie Boys

EMMY WATCH 2020: The Sound for the Beastie Boys Story Doc

The original experimental punk, hip hop, rap rock, alternative band of best friends Adam “MCA” Yauch, Michael “Mike D” Diamond, and Adam “Ad-Rock” Horovitz, better...