Saturday, May 18, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsICG Names Special Awards Recipients

ICG Names Special Awards Recipients


The International Cinematographers Guild (ICG, IATSE Local 600) announced the recipients of special awards as part of its Emerging Cinematographer Awards (ECA). The special awards will be presented during the ECA opening event at the American Society of Cinematographers Clubhouse in Los Angeles on Sept. 26. The 18th annual Emerging Cinematographer Awards ceremony will be held at the Directors Guild of America Theater on Sept. 28, where actress Stefanie Powers will be a guest speaker.

The Canon Award for excellence in cinematography technology will be presented to Codex. The company manufactures high-end digital recorders for motion picture and television production, including the Codex Onboard S and Codex Onboard M recorders, which enable the Canon EOS C500 to capture 4K Cinema RAW at up to 120 fps. Marc Dando, president of Codex, will accept the award.

Michael Goi, ASC will receive the Kodak cinematography mentor of the year award. Goi conducts seminars at Cal State Northridge, the Maine Photographic Workshop, Columbia College and at the ICG. Goi has been nominated for three Primetime Emmy awards for American Horror Story, Glee and My Name is Earl. He is also a past president of the ASC.

The Technicolor cinematography journalist of the year will be presented to John Bailey, ASC. He is vice president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, and his blog is highly respected. He is known for his cinematography on Groundhog Day and As Good As It Gets. He was cinematographer for two 2014 movies, The Angriest Man in Brooklyn, starring the late Robin Williams, and The Forger, starring John Travolta. A Walk in the Woods, starring Robert Redford and Emma Thompson, is in postproduction.

Professor Judy Irola, ASC, the Conrad Hall Chair of Cinematography at USC’s School of Cinematic Arts, will receive the Nat Tiffen Award for excellence in cinematography education. Her very first feature as a cinematographer was Northern Lights which won the Camera d’Or at the Cannes Film Festival in 1979. An Ambush of Ghosts garnered her the cinematography award, dramatic competition at the 1993 Sundance Film Festival. She has photographed 17 independent feature films and more than 40 documentaries throughout the world.

“We are blessed to have such talented people working in their various fields, while all of them are cinematographers first and foremost,” said Steven Poster, ASC, ICG’s national president

Also attending this event will be the ECA honorees. They are Frank Buono, Devin Doyle, George Feucht, Sidarth Kantamneni, Kyle Klütz, David Kruta, Bartosz Nalazek and Greta Zozula, as well as honorable mentions Chris Heinrich and David Jean Schweitzer, SOC.

- Advertisment -


SISU Cinema Robotics Announces SISU Battery Box for Robotic Camera Equipment

SISU Cinema Robotics has been transforming the landscape of robotic camera equipment by introducing user-friendly cinema technology designed to keep pace with the demands...

Beowulf and 3-D