Saturday, May 18, 2024
Subscribe Now

Voice Of The Crew - Since 2002

Los Angeles, California

HomeAwardsNew Awards Recognize Best Films at ICG's Emerging Cinematographer Awards

New Awards Recognize Best Films at ICG’s Emerging Cinematographer Awards


Honorees at the Emerging Cinematographer Awards. From left: Brian O'Carroll (honorable mention), Alison Kelly, Stefan Tarzan, Michael Nie, Yueni Zander, Steven Poster, Joseph Arena, Steve Romano, David Mahlman, Gregory Wilson. (Photo by Craig T. Mathew/Mathew Imaging).
Two special prizes were given out at the International Cinematographers Guild’s Emerging Cinematographer Awards Sunday evening. A group of top directors of photography judged Absaroka and String Theory the best films of the evening.

Stefan Tarzan, cinematographer of the western Absaroka, was given an Arri Alexa rental package, and Steve Romano, cinematographer of String Theory, received a Panavision camera package. The value of these packages is sufficient to shoot their next projects.

Tarzan and Romano were among the eight honorees whose films were screened before a packed audience at the Directors Guild of America Theatre in Los Angeles.

Bruce Davis, former executive director of the Motion Picture Academy, jokingly advised the honorees on how to accept awards. “I have a lot of experience in that area,” he said.

Steven Poster, ASC, president of the ICG, and Jim Matlosz, chairman of the ECA committee, presided over the event.

The honorees at the 15th Annual Emerging Cinematographer Awards included Joseph Arena, Applebox; Alison Kelly, Spring of Sorrow; David Mahlman, Numb; Michael Nie, Not Your Time; Steve Romano, String Theory; Stefan Tarzan, Absaroka; Yueni Zander, Dead Grass, Dry Roots; Gregory Wilson, Somewhere Else; Abraham Martinez, Little Candy Hearts (honorable mention), and Brian O’Carroll, 8 For Infinity (honorable mention).

Earlier, three awards were handed out at a luncheon the ICG held at the offices of the American Society of Cinematographers. Multiple Emmy winner Robert Primes received the Deluxe Bud Stone Award for cinematography education. The Kodak Award for mentorship went to veteran cinematographer John Bailey, while the Technicolor Billy Fraker Award for cinematography journalism was presented to Carolyn Giardina, The Hollywood Reporter’s contributing editor, technology.

A special screening of the ECA films will be held at the Museum of the Moving Image in New York, Oct. 2, (for more information, visit:

- Advertisment -


SISU Cinema Robotics Announces SISU Battery Box for Robotic Camera Equipment

SISU Cinema Robotics has been transforming the landscape of robotic camera equipment by introducing user-friendly cinema technology designed to keep pace with the demands...

Beowulf and 3-D